2017 ILS Banquet

April 20th was our annual Integrated Liberal Studies banquet, where we honored ILS scholarship winners, excellence in teaching, and our graduating certificate students.

Kevin St. John Speaking at the ILS banquet
Kevin St. John, the keynote speaker at the banquet. St. John was Deputy Attorney General of the State of Wisconsin from 2011 to 2015.

The heart of the evening was embodied by the speech of Kevin St. John, an ILS Alumnus and Attorney with Bell Giftos St. John LLC. Mr. St. John spoke about his time in the department, his lifelong learning, and the way in which a liberal education fosters imagination and growth within our society.


The ILS prize recipients are as follows.

Meiklejohn Travel Award-To help support an ILS student in a university-sponsored or an independent program of education-centered travel or study abroad

  • Mitch Deitz

Pooley Prize-On the basis of academic achievement and student leadership in the ILS program, including involvement in extracurricular activities.

  • Rachel Gruenke
  • Michael Kelley

Ruth Knatz Memorial Prize-Named for Ruth Knatz Gross Wisnewsky and given by her husband, Edward Wisnewsky, this prize will be given only to a truly outstanding student.

  • Elena Mederas
  • Jed Hobson

TA Excellence Award

  • James Barnes

We also awarded our graduating seniors with their ILS Certificates. Your ILS class of 2017 is as follows:
Zachery Anderson
Manman Ding
Hannah Frank
Daniel Goldfield
Lukas Heins
Jed Hobson
Daniel Karlov
Sam Landes
Francisco Martinez
Elena Mederas
Garret Pauli
Bianca Ricker
Noah Stengl
Alex Topel
Amy Yang
Another congratulations to our graduating class, we are incredibly proud of you.

Leave a Reply